Tuesday, 16 May 2017 18:49

Penn State Wins Eighth Conference Title of Year

Penn State Athletics wins its eighth conference championship of the 2016-2017 academic year this past weekend as the men's track & field team won its first Big Ten title ever.

Penn State continued its winning ways, winning its seventh conference championship of the 2016-2017 academic year. The latest Big Ten title comes to the Nittany Lion men's track & field team, its first Big Ten championship in program history. The men's outdoor track team rolled up 117 points over the three-day meet.

Isaiah Harris became a four-time Big Ten champion, with a victory in the 800m. Malik Moffett took home titles in the long jump with 26-feet and ran a 19.87 second in the 200m, both setting PSU records. Both were instrumental in the team title for PSU.

The Nittany Lion men's squad had several athletes who were honored by the conference, including:

Men’s All-Big Ten First-Team:

Isaiah Harris

Malik Moffett


Men’s All-Big Ten Second-Team:

Dan Chisena

Tyreek Mathis

Timothy McGowan

Morgan Shigo

Michael Shuey

Xavier Smith

The Penn State men's track & field team joins six other Lion squads who have won Big Ten conference championships this year, including field hockey, football, men's ice hockey, women's soccer, women's indoor track & field and wrestling. Men's volleyball also won the EIVA championship, bringing the annual total to eight.